Beginnings in Tegucigalpa

It´s now my fourth day in Honduras. I´ve realized a lot in those three days. Life here is much different from last summer. It´s refreshing. We won´t have any groups while I´m here, besides Dudley and a few individuals. We all know what that means–no high schoolers. In other words, no boys telling me they like poetry after I tell them I´m a journalism major (Yes, that happened).

Friday proved relaxing. I arrived around 11 a.m., and we essentially didn´t do much all day. Amber and I talked for hours about a variety of things. We both realize how alike we are, and we get along very well. We discussed the idea of me doing the HIM program here. We both agree it would be great. I know, though, I want someone to come with me. There´s such a blessing that exists when you can grow with an experience along with someone else.

I met the Shine kids for the first time Friday. Amber and the Elliots´ started the Shine program to give better schooling to kids in Magote. There are four Shine kids, and they come over after school for us to tutor them. The kids amazing me with how quickly they are learning English, when they just started a few months ago. I think I will be pretty attached to them by the end of the four weeks.

Saturday, we went to a ¨Bike-a-thon.¨ The Shine kids had a school event, and we had no idea what it would entail. It turned out to be just a family day. We went to home in the country, and all the families hung out together. The kids had fun, though. That was good to see, especially since it could prove to be strange for them being the all the rich kids.

Saturday night, we fed the homeless. Amber has made it to where we can feed four times a week. Also, we feed at three different places now, all in one night. I love doing that. I feel like Amber lives out Jesus´s words, ¨Whatever you do for the least of these, you do for me.¨ It´s a pretty incredible experience. We´re going again later tonight.

Yesterday, we went to the new boy´s home. They boys live most of the day in a small room watching tv. It kills me to see it. Amber wants so badly to do more with them, but we can´t take them out. It´s a government-run home, and they´re afraid the kids will run away if they´re let out. I would too if I were them. They barely get to see the sun. They feel like they live in a prison. We play games with them and just talk with them. They´re all so sweet and just want to be loved. They feel like no one loves them and that they have little chance in life. Some of them remain hopefully, but they´re all still so kind and loving towards us. I already love them. I´m in trouble.

Then, we went to church in Magote. It was nice being there again. I helped with Amber´s class. I still haven´t seen a lot of the kids I fell in love with. I may never see them again, but I have new kids and new people to love.

Please, continue to pray for me. Love you all.

2 thoughts on “Beginnings in Tegucigalpa

  1. I enjoyed this story – gives me a feel for what your day is like. I wish I could be there to experience these things with my kid who loves others so well 🙂 I love you, Mama

Leave a comment!

