Pride goeth before you fall on your face.

Why do we have such trouble asking others for money or having them ask us?

We fundraise in ministry. It’s essential. I’m about to start my largest fundraising adventure ever for a two-year missions project (HIM).

I’m not trying to toot my own horn or anything (have you ever thought about how weird certain expressions are?), but I don’t have any problem asking people for money.

I apologize to those out there who do and to those who don’t appreciate getting my letters.

But get over it. Pride goeth before you fall on your face (I should coin expressions from now on).

I’m not commanding you to give me money. I’ll leave that one to God. No, I’m simply asking. If you’re giving to someone else, well, GREAT. More power to you. 

If you’re not giving to anyone and still refuse to give, well…I’ll leave that one to God also.

As a Church, we’re supposed to support those who can’t support themselves, whether that’s a missionary or someone else. And since I’ve asked others for money, I’ve tried to give when others ask me in recent years. I may not do this in the way most people do.

When a person’s begging for money on the roadside, I realize they may use the money for drugs. Or they may not even need the money. If I see a person begging and I have a few bucks, I give it to them. I’m aware this might make me a schmuck.

But do we get to decide what’s in someone’s heart? I think I’ll leave that one to God too.

So, when someone asked you for money or if you have to ask, don’t assume the worst of that person. Have a little faith.

“And it is impossible to please God without faith. Anyone who wants to come to him must believe that God exists and that he rewards those who sincerely seek him.”                       ~Hebrews 11:6

Leave a comment!

