Free to be themselves, Pt. 2

As promised, here are the rest of the stories. Three more children, three more lives God changed through Impact. They saw the love of Jesus, and they felt it too.
*******************

2011: Fikiria and one of Impact's other African-immigrants a part of Impact's ministry.

I don’t speak the same language as many kids at VBS. I have less money and food than most. One intern gives me fresh clothes everyday because I smell like feces.

I don’t bathe much at home. I don’t have many clothes, and my parents neglect me. I don’t always have a good attitude, but I can sure dance.

I love to learn, but I’ll never tell you that. When I laugh, it lights up the room. I’ll argue with you, but I know you love me. You have shown me that. I’m unconditionally loved, and I’m free to be me at Impact.

I’m Fikiria, and I’m in orange group (3rd grade).

2011: Another African immigrant Amani with his buddy Steve. Impact now has many children attending that are African immigrants, finding their way in a new world.

2011: Amani and Adam. They, like most of Impact's African immigrants, fit Fikiria's story.

Litzy (bottom right) with a few youth group volunteers and one of her classmates. She loved VBS...quietly.

I don’t speak much. It’s not because I can’t. I just choose not to. I don’t have a lot of confidence to speak with others. I’m not what you might call chatty.

I’m probably more shy than almost all kids you’ll meet. One intern saw that right away, and I became her project. I rarely participated. I thought I would fail at games. The most I did was to look out for my baby sister, who’s shy like me.

Now, I’ll still hesitate to do anything, but it’s only because I wait for someone to do it with me. I wait for that smile, that encouragement. I know it will come. I know I’m unconditionally loved. I know I won’t feel left out, but I’m free to be my beautiful, shy, but unconditionally kind, self.

Litzy (right) with one of our interns

I’m Litzy, and I’m in blue group (4th grade).

2010: Miguel and I after weeks of working with him last year. We became best friends. And still are.


You first met me last summer. You saw me more in the hall than in my color group. I hit. I spit. I bit. I pinched. I yelled at the other little buddies in my group.

Doctors diagnosed me with mild autism last summer. It’s hard to know why I don’t act like other kids or why God chose to make me this way.

2010: Miguel and his intern, Dayshard. A beautiful friendship.

But I’m treated the same at VBS. I pull my eyelashes out for fun. But I feel liked anyway.

I didn’t even know my alphabet last summer. Now, I can sound out words and hopefully soon read and write on my own. Returning interns kept trying with me. Fresh faces became my biggest supporters.

2010: Miguel and his original champion intern, Ashley. She is so much of his success.

Now, I roam the halls only with my group just like all the other kids. I was unconditionally loved last summer, and it continued into this one. I’m loved, and I am free to be me indeed. God has amazing plans for me.

I’m Miguel, and I’m in yellow group (5th grade).

2011: Miguel, 4th child from left, finally feeling apart of his classroom. He is learning and he is growing in incredible ways. He actually read some of his journal back to me. He is coming to Impact on a weekly basis now. Pray that each of these children continue to be a part of Impact and become leaders there.

*********************

Impact gave these children a chance, when no one else did. 

On behalf of those who love these children, we thank you for every part you played. For your prayers. For your financial support. For your time…your selfless service…your relentless belief in spreading the everlasting, unconditional love of the one who gave it all. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

God worked through us at Impact this summer to affect these kids. As Phil. 2:13 says, “For God is working in you, giving you the desire and the power to do what pleases him.” I’m so grateful to my God and to Impact ministers for letting me be a part of it.

God has done and continues to provide marvelous services at Impact for kids like these and others who need Jesus. May God keep blessing Impact and others through their wonderful service. And to our Almighty be the glory. Forever and ever. Amen.

One thought on “Free to be themselves, Pt. 2

  1. Michael, I definately want to hear all your posts and news while you are in Honduras. If you ever meet Bob Wilkerson, a worker at Campamento, gives him my regards. He is about 80 yrs old and is sponsored by Bread for a Hungry World. Please do not show him a picture of me, as I want him to remember me as a thin, cute, 20 yr old college student, instead of an old, fat, woman, OK? Really!!!

    I am so thrilled about your work, and I know that you will do great things for the Lord. You are such a special person, and I would like to write to you after you get there.

    I will pray for you and your work, and please pray for me, too!

    Sincerely with love, Sue Haynie

Leave a comment!

