Starting out in Tegucigalpa

Yes, I know I have been in Honduras a week and haven’t blogged. There’s probably a special place…somewhere for that. Hell seems a bit extreme, right?

Back to the point, since my mom came with me, I have wanted to spend more time with her and less on blogging and email. So, blame her. I do. It makes life more fun when you blame your mother for everything, don’t you think?

Good thing I don’t go to therapy. Ha.

Ok really now…on point: I have tried to jump right into to work here. My sweet mother has helped get my room and bathroom set up in Amber’s house. We bought a bed and a few little pieces of furniture to hold books and such. Amber sweetly drove us to the mall and entertained Rosie (her two year old) while I tried to make decisions on what I wanted — an act that has proven difficult since I was a kid. I think we’re going again today to pick up a mirror, some curtains and bed sheets. Exciting stuff, I know. I get goose bumps just talking about it. On to the stuff you care about…

I have loved being back and feeling a part of the ministries here again. Showing my mom what my work will be like has proved such a blessing. Now when I talk about it in the future, she will know exactly who and what I’m talking about.

Amber, Bob Elliot (Shine program director) and I have decided I will become the person in charge of Shine Honduras.
This is a scholarship program designed to give some of the poorer children a chance to attend a better school. We want them to become future Godly leaders in their Honduran communities. We hope the children will realize the conditions many of their fellow citizens and grow up wanting to create change in their country. I’m excited to help grow a program that is already on its way and that will be under the oversight of Amber.

The four children already in the program are learning an amazing amount. Since I was here last, their English has improved dramatically. We helped them finish their final drafts of their book reports yesterday, and they present at school today. I’m sure I’ll hear about how they went when the kids arrive this afternoon. Then we’ll play Hide-and-go-seek, I’m sure.

Mom and I have also gone with Amber almost every night to help with Breaking Chains. It’s amazing to see how it’s grown since I was here in May of 2010. Our homeless friends eat, sleep and now even cook for themselves in the building. Of course, each time we go Amber and David (another missionary that helps with the ministry) put out fires. But I just play with the kids and have a blast doing so. Lots more Hide-and-go-seek.

I’m sorry I don’t have my camera cord to upload pictures. I left it at home, but hopefully I’ll have it in a few weeks. Maybe between now and then I can get some pictures off Amber’s camera. So for now, you’ll just have to settle for a few older pictures.

Again thank you to all who are the reason I’m here. Thank you for partnering with me. Blessings to all.

2 thoughts on “Starting out in Tegucigalpa

  1. Thank you, God, for giving me the opportunity to share this adventure with my kiddo! How amazing and how difficult to process all I saw and experienced. Please bless your people serving in Honduras. Please accomplish your will there…

    Michael, I love you. I love you!

  2. I love you Mikey!!!! I talked to your dad Tuesday night and I have your phone number now. I will try and call soon! I am praying for you and Auntie Terry! I am so proud of you.

Leave a comment!

