Sugar and spice…

Genesis Nayeli is sponsored for Christmas!

We have a little girl that I have become quite attached to, and her name is Genesis Nayeli. She has a smile and a sweetness about her that would improve your mood no matter what’s happening.

My mom fell in love with Genesis while she was here in October, and Genesis always asks about my mom. She constantly asks when my mom’s coming back. She’s 10 years old and the oldest of Eddy and Eugene’s three kids.

Last night Corey and I were teaching Escarleth and Arol the alphabet, and Genesis kept asking me to teach her. She knows how to read.

“No, Michael, I don’t,” she said.

“Yes, you do,” I said. “You can read and write. Why are you pretending like you can’t? I need to get these kids ready so that maybe they can catch up in school. You already know your alphabet and much more, silly girl.”

Genesis (right) with her little sister Escarleth (left) praying in Bible class one Sunday.

“No, I don’t!” Genesis said.

We went back and forth like this for a while. She wanted attention, and she planned to say anything to make that happen.

“I want to learn, Michael!” She kept telling me.

“Fine!” I said, and we both laughed. “Write me a letter. You don’t need to practice your alphabet. Practice writing on your own.” So, she wrote me the sweetest letter about how much she loved me and how good of a friend I was. It melted my heart, of course.

I pray Genesis will keep her sweetness and not become jaded by the world around her, that she will grow into a sweet, beautiful woman who wants to change lives around Honduras.

Leave a comment!

