Fighting the darkness

I’m sorry I have slacked lately, but I really have struggled to make time to write or keep track of anything lately. I think often I don’t even know where to start when I write. But I’ll share something I shared with someone recently…

I’m often overwhelmed by the pain I see around me – from a teenage boy getting raped on the street because he walked too late at night, to a 5-year-old girl who has not only been molested but also doesn’t know the love of a mother even though she lives with her.

From a young man who has lived on the streets since he was nine and just can’t believe we want to love him. To a homeless kid asking us to help him with a bullet wound he got because he was so hungry he stole some food.

But I’m also moved by the sheer joy I see in the deepest of darkness. From the little boy who says he comes to our shelter, “Because you hug me.” To an 80-year-old crippled woman on the street saying “Blessings” because I gave her 50 cents.

To a handful of formerly street kids succeeding in school because we told them, “We believe in you, and so does our God.” To that same 5-year-old girl saying, “I love you,” with a hug that could take your breath away.

I have never felt a greater joy than when I can show the unconditional love of our Savior to someone who had altogether given up that it existed.

Our God is here, and I see him fighting the deepest of darkness. Among the drugs, the prostitution, the incredible pain, the Almighty reigns in me and I’m thankful I can put on my boxing gloves and help.

2 thoughts on “Fighting the darkness

  1. Amen sista! It is the moments of offering mercy and extending love that we feel God’s Spirit moving and taking over our lives. I wish I could wrap my arms around your babies, but I’m so thankful God placed YOU there:) I rejoice in the love you give and receive there, because you fight not only for God but also for all of us as a Body. Keep fighting dear one.

  2. I’m glad you have learned to box with the Devil and love God’s children at the same time. An amazing skill that we all need to continue to practice until the Lord is perfectly formed in all our hearts. I love your heart. Go get ’em.

Leave a comment!

