We’ve been so quiet lately…

Something Michael and I have learned over the last month is that Dengue fever is a terrible thing and so is slipping a disk in your back. Michael is all better now, and I am getting better as the days go by. I have a very interesting Canadian chiropractor here. It has given me plenty of time to plan out curriculum for the building and our food production plans. Nevertheless, we have had some fun events with the kids in the midst of our illnesses. IMG_2501

We had a great little Halloween party with our kids and the kids at the BC building. They bobbed for apples, carved pumpkins (well large gourds), played other fun Halloween games (like eat a donut off a string, which I didn’t even know was a Halloween thing) and had spider pizza! The kids all had a blast, and we adults really did too. We were all laughing so hard with every activity.IMG_2432

We are excited about kindergarten graduation coming up for our little Dayana, and for Axel at the building. We’re excited to see how proud they will be and how proud we will feel of them. It has been a rough road at times, especially for Dayana. We’re so grateful they both have this opportunity.IMG_2360

To end this belated update, I want to show a beautiful picture from our feeding on the street last Friday night. We were at our final feeding spot, and I noticed a boy from a family we get to feed nearly every week wearing an interesting shirt.

Image

This is one of the times I think Jesus and Gandhi would agree. Gandhi says “Be the change you want to see.” I think Jesus would say, “Be the church you want to see.” Right now, there’s a disaster in the Philippines, and I have no hesitation that CURE medical missions at my home church is mobilizing to do all they can to help.

Matthew 25:34-40: Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.’ Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink? And when did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you? And when did we see you sick or in prison and visit you?’ And the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.’

“Come, you who are blessed by my Father.” We are blessed to provide food for the hungry, water for the thirsty and shelter for the strangers. Remember that you are also blessed to serve and love God’s people.

One thought on “We’ve been so quiet lately…

Leave a comment!

