You are blessed.

I’m reading this fantastic book by Randy Harris called Living Jesus. It’s a great read, and he starts off with a great point about the Sermon on the Mount. Jesus begins by telling everyone they are blessed. Blessed are the poor…blessed are those who mourn…blessed are the meek and so on. Before any of the other instruction Jesus gives, he says, “You are blessed.”

I’ve been laid up for almost a month now with a moderately herniated disk, which sucks. I hate it, and sometimes all I feel like I can do is sit. I’ve seen a lot of commercials for Black Friday, which is now blackening Thanksgiving. And I can’t help but feel a little sad when I hear LL Cool J say, “T’was the night before Black Friday…” rather than “T’was the night before Christmas.” We are learning to zoom past being thankful for our blessings to moving on to fight others for more stuff that will not make us happy nor will it make those around us as happy as our presence would.

Sure, there is nothing wrong with getting and giving a few gifts. Our kids will get some toys and clothes that they need. Maybe you need nothing, and can choose gifts or to give someone else a happy Christmas at one of these sites or another, http://bchonduras.wordpress.com/ and Heifer International. (Two of my personal favorites)

Yesterday I felt good enough to transplant some lavender with my little girl. She was completely content and happy doing this.  And most of all, she loved doing it with me. When I look at this picture below, I know I am blessed. And she knows she is blessed. God has blessed us, and it all starts from there. This season we will remember that God blessed us with his son, and it all started from there.

Image

Apparently you are not supposed to start lavender inside, but then we wouldn’t have this adorable picture.

One thought on “You are blessed.

Leave a comment!

